Explore: Animal care

Agricultural Lecturer

info Issues viewing the video?

Rachel E

00:02 My name is Rachel E, I am an Agricultural Lecturer here at Greenmount Campus and I work for the Department of Agriculture and Rural Development.

00:10 I work within the FE sector, so ostensibly sixteen to nineteen year olds that I’m dealing with. I am involved in two courses, the National Certificate in agriculture, which is a one-year programme and the National Diploma which is a three year programme.

00:25 Actually I studied here, as a student, so I did HND here and, at that point, I decided I was maybe going to go and try and get a farm management job, I thought I’d done enough studying, but I was encouraged by the lecturers here to go on,

00:41 At that stage there was an option to top up to degree level at Queens University, so I took that option, finished off my degree in one year.

00:49 Luckily enough there were a number of jobs came up within the Department of Agriculture at that point. Went for criteria based interview and got the job and came basically straight in from my degree.

01:01 Born on to the family farm, basically and just a great love for agriculture since I was a toddler, out on the farm, working on the farm, just a love for animals and I just knew that my career path was going to be working with animals at some, at some level, whether it was veterinary nursing, agriculture, equine, any one of those career paths, but, at the time, I just assumed that agriculture would be the best for me, so it was my own personal decision. There was lots of encouragement but no pressure.

01:32 I have three sisters, none of whom have an interest in agriculture at all, so basically I’m the one that’s running the, the farm, I run the farm part-time as well as, as working here at the college as well, so.

01:44 The death of my father made me see life more clearly and he was very young when he died and I just feel it’s important to grab every, every opportunity that’s available to you and live your life to the full and you just become more assertive and, you know, I had to do lots of things that dad would have done, you know, paperwork and so on, so certainly you grew up in a short space of time for sure. I had some time off to get things together but there was just we had forty cattle and almost five hundred sheep, so I just had to reduce everything down, so it’s a much smaller number that I have now and it’s more a hobby that I would call it really.

02:26 My day starts at six o’clock, I get up and check the stock and feed the stock. I have some pedigree sheep at home so a, a lot of management goes into those. I leave for work at seven-thirty, it’s a sixty-mile journey for me, one way, to get to work. I’m here for nine. I have a nine to five day, I get home at six-thirty and then I do the farm again until round about nine. But to me going out on to the farm after work is my way to relax and forget about your day and, and everything that’s gone wrong during the day, so I enjoy that. It is tiring but, on the whole, not too bad, works out fine.

03:07 At school I found probably careers guidance wasn’t fantastic. You just picked the subjects that you thought were going to be good for you, you know, the ones you enjoyed the most. So I did my sciences and maths and English, those subjects certainly have come in useful to me now. After I finished my GCSEs, I decided to leave school and I went to an FE college and picked up my A levels there and from then I discovered CAFRE but when I came then to Greenmount I was so interested in the subjects and it just gave me the motivation to work so much harder. At school, you know, you just went from day to day and the exams were important and I had to work for exams but when I came here it was just totally different, you know, really motivated and interested in the subjects.

03:55 END

Rachel E is an agricultural lecturer and also runs a farm part time. She says, “My day starts at six o’clock, I get up and check the stock and feed the stock. I leave for work at seven-thirty, it’s a sixty-mile journey for me to get to work. I’m here for nine. I have a nine to five day, I get home at six-thirty and then I do the farm again until round about nine”. Even though she works long days she really enjoys working with animals and agriculture.

More information about Agricultural and fishing trades n.e.c.

average salary

The UK average salary is £29,813

average weekly hours

There are 37.5 hours in the average working week

100%  male 

The UK workforce is 47% female and 53% male

Future employment

Future employment?

? Job holders in this unit group perform a variety of agricultural and fishing tasks not elsewhere classified in MINOR GROUP 511: Agricultural and Related Trades.
No formal academic qualifications are required. Training is typically received on-the-job. A variety of vocational and academic qualifications in fish farming, forestry, horse and other animal care are available. Professional qualifications are also available and may be mandatory in some areas.
  • Nets river fish and feeds and maintains them in spawning pens, cultivates and harvests oysters, mussels and clams on natural and artificial beds, treats water and diseased fish, and empties and cleans outdoor tanks;
  • Navigates and maintains shipping vessels, assists with the shooting, hauling and repairing of fishing nets, prepares, lays and empties baited pots, and guts, sorts and stows fish;
  • Establishes and maintains forest nurseries, forestry and woodland, and diagnoses and treats diseased trees;
  • Patrols a designated area of the countryside to monitor damage, erosion, access to rights of way and the state of footpaths and other facilities, and carries out remedial maintenance work as necessary;
  • Monitors and maintains the level of wildfowl on public and private estates.
Employment by region
Top 10 industries for this job
Agriculture, etc 19305
Employment status

From personal careers advice to finding work, see our round-up of
useful websites to help you on your way

Explore more videos by: